The Record Newspapers - Hometown News For Orange County, Texas

Phi Kappa Phi Inductees Selected


Last updated 4/30/2008 at Noon

Phi Kappa Phi honor society initiates 96 students at Lamar Ninety-six Lamar University juniors and seniors were initiated into the National Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi during the organization’s annual spring ceremony Tuesday (April 29, 2008) in the Setzer Student Center Ballroom.

Seniors elected to membership must have a 3.5 grade-point average and rank in the upper 10 percent of their graduating class, while second-semester juniors who have a 3.5 GPA must rank in the upper 7.5 percent of their class.

Chapter president Emma Hawkins, professor of English and modern languages, welcomed guests, explained membership criteria and presented a history of Lamar Chapter 95, which was chartered in 1965.

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society, Hawkins said.

Lamar is one of fewer than 300 colleges and universities to have chapters of the honor society.

Sudjai Williams of Beaumont received a $1,000 scholarship, presented -- by Stephen Doblin, provost and vice president of academic affairs -- to a graduating senior who plans to attend graduate school.

Callie Summerlin of Groves earned a national Phi Kappa Phi grant of $1,000 to study abroad, which the Lamar chapter supplemented with a $500 grant.

Hawkins made that presentation.

The names of the inductees and their hometowns are listed below: Mauriceville: Carrie Elaine Oldbury.

Orange: Katey Renee Burnaman, Jennifer Leigh Clarke, Edward Otremba, David Alan Sanders.

Vidor: David Garrett Jones, Amy Christine Sessions, Steven Woodard.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019