The Record Newspapers - Hometown News For Orange County, Texas

Preparing for Year Two of “Two Steps, One Sticker”


Last updated 1/25/2016 at Noon

Texans will have one convenient expiration date for vehicle inspection and registration

As Texas steps into the second year of the “Two Steps, One Sticker” program for vehicle inspection and registration, vehicle owners can look forward to a simpler process for these two important annual vehicle requirements.

Beginning on March 1, the transition year ends, and vehicles will have one convenient expiration date for inspection and registration. Here is what Texans need to do from that point forward: Take a look at the date on your vehicle registration sticker and then follow the two steps.

Step 1: Pass a vehicle inspection no earlier than 90 days prior to your registration expiration and retain your vehicle inspection report. To find your nearest inspection station, visit the Texas Department of Public Safety’s (DPS) website.

Step 2: After your vehicle passes inspection, renew your registration online, by mail or in person at your county tax office, and your inspection status will be verified electronically.

Remember that your vehicle inspection and registration will expire on the last day of whatever month is indicated on your sticker. You will have plenty of time to complete the two steps. Just be sure to pass inspection and renew your registration no earlier than 90 days before your sticker expires.

For example, if your registration sticker expires in March 2016, you can pass your inspection as early as Jan. 2, which is 90 days before your sticker expires.

“By now most vehicles in the state have successfully transitioned to a single sticker as proof of both inspection and registration,” said TxDMV Executive Director Whitney Brewster. “Streamlining the process for both inspection and registration is consistent with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles’ goal to continue to simplify and automate motor vehicle services for Texas drivers.

Benefits of the “Two Steps, One Sticker” program:

One sticker, one date: With “Two Steps, One Sticker” you have just one sticker with one expiration date.

Less clutter, better view: With “Two Steps, One Sticker” you have just the familiar blue-bordered registration sticker in the corner of your windshield.

Safer streets, cleaner air: Because a passing vehicle inspection is a requirement to renew your registration, more Texans comply with the safety and emissions testing laws.

Fraud prevention: With inspection stickers no longer needed under “Two Steps, One Sticker,” this change eliminates the risk of inspection sticker fraud and theft.

The state of Texas stopped issuing vehicle inspection stickers on March 1, 2015, as a result of House Bill 2305 that passed during the 83rd legislative session (2013). The implementation of the change in law is a joint effort among three state agencies:

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV): The TxDMV administers the state’s vehicle registration program.

The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS): DPS administers the state’s vehicle safety inspection program.

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ): The TCEQ administers the state’s vehicle emissions testing program.

For more information, visit


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019