The Record Newspapers - Hometown News For Orange County, Texas

Oubre receives LIT Award of Excellence


Last updated 7/15/2016 at Noon

Dr. Shawn Oubre is shown receiving his Presidential Award of Excellence from Dr. Paul J. Szuch.

Dr. Paul Szuch, President, Lamar Institute of Technology presented the Presidential Award of Excellence to Lamar Institute of Technology Foundation President Dr. Shawn Oubre and the LIT Foundation Board of Directors for their years of excellent service to LIT students and the community. The award was presented during the Connie and Paul J. Szuch Scholarship Endowment Dinner in May which raised $38,000 to serve our students.

One of our students’ biggest need is finding a way to cover the cost of their education. From Fiscal year 2012 to Fiscal year 2016, the LIT Foundation experienced an increase of 436.992% in scholarship distributions and an investment increase from Fiscal year 2006 through Fiscal year 2016 of 298%.

The award offers congratulations to LIT Foundation Board Members: Executive Board members: Dr.

Shawn Oubre, President, City of Orange, City Manager; Rod Carroll, Vice President, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office, Assistant Chief; Tim Sudela, Treasurer, American Valve and Hydrant, President; Pat Avery, Secretary, Griffith Mosely Johnson & Associates, Vice President, Global Business Development; Gisela Houseman, Audit Committee Chair,Houseman Development Company, Inc.; Bessie Chisum, Committee on Directors Chair, Chisum Resource Management; Commissioner Eddie Arnold, Development Committee Chair, Jefferson County, Commissioner Precinct 1; Guy Goodson, Investment Committee Chair, Germer PLLC; Raymond Polk, Scholarship Committee Chair, PAISD, Director of School to Work; Dean Robinson, Immediate Past President, State Farm Insurance.

Additional board members are: Danny Babineaux, Air Comfort, Inc, President Emeritus; A. B. Bernard, BGI Contractors; Robert Bilnoski, Golden Pass LNG, VP – Human Resources/Public Affairs; Dale Boothman, Edward Jones, Financial Advisor; Ted Boumans, Boumans & Associates, President; Jason Bussell, BASF TOTAL Petrochemicals LLC, Training Coordinator; John Carlson, Chevron Phillips Chemical Co., LP, Plant Manager; Alice Cater, Real Estate Broker and Investor; Greg Gentry, Valero, Plant Manager; Daryl Gilbert, Sr., Simons Memorial COGIC; Kyle Hayes, City of Beaumont, City Manager; Brandon Hebert, Acadian Ambulance Southeast Texas Division, Director of Operations; Kathleen Jackson, Texas Water Development Board; Dr.

Mattie Londow, Port Arthur Independent School District, Retired Principal, Board of Trustees Emeritus; Jean McFaddin, Plum Nearly Ranch; Bill Miller, M & I Electric, Chief Executive Officer; David Parmer, Baptist Hospital of Southeast Texas, Chief Executive Officer; J. Hoke Peacock II, Orgain, Bell & Tucker LLP; Vernon Pierce, Entergy-Texas, Director of Customer Service; Micki Carpenter Platt, American Real Estate; Raymond Polk, Port Arthur Independent School District, Director of School to Work; Jim Rich, Southeast Texas Economic Development Foundation, Executive Director; Chief Pete Shelton, Port of Beaumont Board, President; Beaumont Fire & Rescue Chief Emeritus; Rickey Simmons, Triple S Industrial, Vice President; Dr.

Joel Smith, Dentist; Hershel Stagner, Jr., Claybar Funeral Homes, Operations Manager; Patrick Turner, ExxonMobil, Public and Government Affairs Manager; David Thornhill,Southwest Building Systems; LIT Alumni Association President; Jerry Vandervoort, SpawGlass, Project Executive.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 07/05/2020 20:41