The Record Newspapers - Hometown News For Orange County, Texas

Author photo

By Dave Rogers
For the Record 

Cities, schools finalize candidates for May


Last updated 2/24/2022 at 2:20pm

As early voting wraps up for the March 1 primary for November's midterm elections, the final lineup for the May 7 city and school boards are set.

Lanie Brown, a familiar name in Orange County politics as Regional Director of Community Relations for U.S. Congressman Brian Babin, is running for one of three at-large spots on the West Orange City Council.

Kenneth Prosperie and his wife Peggy Prosperie, a couple of civic activists, are on a ballot apiece in Bridge City. Kenneth is making a run for City Council and Peggy for the school board.

Another familiar name on the ballot would be longtime Port of Orange Executive Assistant Debbie Britnell.

Would be ... because the Port, like the Orange County Drainage District and Little Cypress-Mauriceville school board, has only one candidate for each seat up for election, so there will be no election for them.

Britnell moves into the at-large position currently filled by Carroll Holt, who is not running for reelection.

Two mayor's seats in Orange County are up for election but Bridge City mayor David Rutledge did not draw an opponent.

Pinehurst City Council members Sarah McClendon and Johnny Asevedo are running for Mayor while incumbents Gregory "Ace" Willis and Cynthia J. Adams were the only ones signed up for the two at-large positions.

For Orange City Council, District 2 rep Brad Childs didn't draw an opponent. District 4 incumbent Mary McKenna has opponents in pistol trainer Richard G. Pillsbury and Dwain Boullard, owner of CDC construction; Charles Thomas is taking on incumbent Caroline Hennigan for the At-Large Place 5.

Former Bridge City Council member Carl Harbert is challenging Place 2 incumbent Mike Reed for a return; Kenneth Prosperie in running against former BCISD board member Patty Collins; and newcomers Sherby Dixon and Michael Boyd will campaign for the Place 6 seat.

Richard Savoy has held the spot since the retirement of Lucy Fields but isn't running in May.

In West Orange, incumbents Dale Dardeau and Shirley Bonnin did not seek reelection. The top three vote-getters among incumbent Michael Shugart Jr., former council members Frances Droddy-Lopez, Jay Odom and Brown will win seats.

Peggy Prosperie will oppose incumbent Rebecca Rutledge for Bridge City ISD Place 3, while incumbents Thad Hill and Jerry McInnis are unopposed in places 4 and 5.

All three incumbents whose at-large seats are up in West Orange-Cove – Demetrius Hunter, Linda Platt-Bryant and Gina Simar – are running for reelection.

But they face opposition from Erick Guillory Sr., John Allen Jefferson Jr. and Donny Teate Jr. with the top three May vote-getters out of the six winning election.

Orangefield ISD holds its board elections in the fall.

For LCM's school board, only incumbents Jeffrey Hill, Christopher Reidel and Roy "Derry" Dunn filed, making an election an unnecessary expense.

The Port of Orange will also have no election as Britnell joined incumbents Keith Wallace and Kevin Singleton as the only ones signing up.

Incumbents Brent Peveto, Hal LaPray and Russell Covington won another four-year term directing the Orange County Drainage District as they were the only ones registering.


Election May 7, 2022 (filing ended Feb. 18)


City of Bridge City (2-year terms)

Mayor – David Rutledge (i)

Place 2 – Mike Reed (i), Carl Harbert

Place 4 – Patty Collins, Kenneth Prosperie

Place 6 – Sherby Dixon, Michael Boyd


City of Orange (3-year terms)

District 2 – Brad Childs (i)

District 4 – Mary McKenna (i), Richard G. Pillsbury, Dwain Boullard

At-Large Place 5 – Caroline Hennigan (i), Charles Thomas


City of Pinehurst (2-year terms)

Mayor – Sarah McClendon, Johnny Asevedo

Alderperson at large (2 positions) – Gregory "Ace" Willis (i), Cynthia J. Adams (i)


City of West Orange (2-year terms)

At-Large Aldermen (3 positions) – Michael Shugart Jr. (i), Jay Odom, Frances Droddy-Lopez, Lanie Brown


Bridge City ISD (3-year-terms)

Place 3 – Rebecca Rutledge (i), Peggy Prosperie

Place 4 – Thad Hill (i)

Place 5 – Jerry McInnis (i)


LCMCISD (3-year terms)

Place 3 – Jeffrey Hill (i)

Place 6 – Christopher Reidel (i)

Place 7 – Roy D. Dunn (i)


WOCCISD (3 At-Large seats, 3-year terms)

Demetrius Hunter (i), Linda Platt-Bryant (i), Gina Simar (i), Erick Guillory Sr., John Allen Jefferson Jr., Donny Teate Jr.


Port of Orange (4-year terms)

Pct. 1 – Keith Wallace (i)

Pct. 4 – Kevin Singleton (i)

At-Large – Debbie Britnell


Orange County Drainage District (4-year terms)

District 1 – Brent Peveto (i)

District 4 – Hal LaPray (i)

At-Large – Russell Covington (i)


(i) -- incumbent 


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

County Record
Penny Record

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 05/09/2023 05:23