Hometown News For Orange County, Texas

County has four contested local races for March primary

Filing ended Monday for candidates running in the Texas party primary races in March with only Republicans running for local county elections. Four of the 13 races will be contested, with the sheriff's race drawing the most candidates.

Sheriff Jimmy Lane Mooney will be seeking his second four-year term in the position that he won in 2020 after the retirement of Keith Merritt. His challengers include veteran law enforcement officers Ron Dischler, Mike Sanchez, and retired Texas Ranger Bobby Smith.

All qualified voters in Orange County may vote for the sheriff's position. The other countywide contested race will be for the chair of the Orange County Republican Party. Cheryl Warren is challenging incumbent chair Leo LaBauve III for the spot.

All four county precinct constables will be up for re-election. Incumbent Jeremiah Gunter in Precinct 2 has two opponents, both retired after law enforcement careers. They are David Bailey, who is currently serving on the Orange City Council, and Harold Hass.

In Precinct 4, incumbent Matt Ortego will be facing Joey Jacobs, currently a captain in the Orange County Sheriff's Office. Precinct 1 incumbent constable Lannie Claybar, and Precinct 3 incumbent, Brad Frye, are running unopposed.

For the precinct races, only registered voters within each precinct vote for their respective constable race.

Newcomer Octavia Guzman drew no challengers for the Orange County Tax Assessor-Collector job. Incumbent Karen Fisher is retiring at the end of her term. Guzman is a longtime employee in the office.

Another newcomer will be Krispen Walker, who drew no challengers for the Orange County Attorney's position, which also serves as the district attorney. Incumbent John Kimbrough is also retiring. Walker has been an assistant district attorney for a number of years and gained a reputation as a tough prosecutor.

Rodney Townsend, a longtime lawyer from Bridge City, is running unopposed for judge of County Court-at-Law. Incumbent Troy Johnson is another official who will retire at the end of his current term.

Also running unopposed as incumbents are State Judge Courtney Arkeen of the 128th District and State Judge Rex Peveto of the 163rd District.

In the Orange County Commissioners Court races, only the Precinct 1 and Precinct 3 seats are open this year. Incumbents Johnny Trahan in Precinct 1 and Kirk Roccaforte in Precinct 3 filed and will be unopposed.

Primary races in Texas will be March 5 with the last day to register to vote as February 5. Early voting will begin February 20 and end March 1.


Reader Comments(0)