Author photo

By Margaret Toal
For the Record 

Republican forums let voters meet local candidates


Last updated 1/30/2024 at 8:45pm

Orange County voters will get a chance Thursday to meet and hear the three candidates running for Precinct 2 constable. Then next week, the the four Republican candidates will be featured in a forum.

The forums are sponsored by the Orange County Republican Party for three of the four local contested races. Because the Democratic Party has no local candidates, the winners of the Republican primary races will run unopposed in the November General Election.

On Thursday, February 1, the forum for Precinct 2 constable will be at 6:30 p.m. at Mauriceville Elementary School, 20040 FM 1130 in Mauriceville. Incumbent Jeremiah Gunter is being opposed by retired law enforcement officers David Bailey and Harold Hass. Bailey currently sits on the Orange City Council with his seat up this May. So far, he has not filed to run again for the council.

Only registered voters who live within Precinct 2 are allowed to vote for that constable's position.

The sheriff's forum will be Thursday, February 8, at 6:30 p.m. at Little Cypress Elementary School, 5723 Meeks Drive in Orange. Candidates are incumbent Jimmy Lane Mooney, who is seeking his second four-year term. He is being challenged by veteran law officers Ron Dischler, Mike Sanchez, and Bobby Smith.

All registered Orange County voters will be able to cast a ballot for sheriff. A candidate must have 50 percent of the vote plus one more to win without a runoff. If needed, a runoff will be between the two candidates with the most votes.

In Texas, the primary runoff races this year will be May 28. If someone votes in the Democratic Party primary, they will not be allowed to vote in a Republican primary runoff.

A forum for the two Precinct 4 constable candidates, incumbent Matt Ortego and challenger Captain Joey Jacobs with the Orange County Sheriff's Office, was held Monday, January 29, in Vidor.

A contested race is also being held this year for chair of the Orange County Republican Party with incumbent Leo Labouve III being challenged by Cheryl Warren. No forum has been set for that position.

The March 4 primaries this year will include voting for presidential candidates to represent the individual parties. The last day to register to vote in the primaries is Monday, February 5. Early voting will begin February 20.

The party primary races should not be confused with the May elections for city councils, school boards, and boards of special districts. Filling for those office is ongoing through February 17


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 04/19/2024 04:20