The Record Newspapers - Hometown News For Orange County, Texas

Newcomers missing in city, school elections


Last updated 1/21/2020 at Noon

Dave Rogers

For The Record

Candidates for local school boards and city council seats have until Feb. 14 to register for the May 2 election.

Sign-up for the offices began a week ago and early reports show no one other than current officeholders enlisting for duty.

In Bridge City, Mayor David Rutledge and council members Mike Reed, Danny Harrington and Lucy Fields have filed to keep the offices they hold.

Reed and Harrington were both summer appointees to fill sudden vacancies so this won’t be a reelection scenario for them.

But none but the four sitting members has signed up so far.

In Orange, the three-year terms of at-large councilman Paul Burch and District 3 councilwoman Terrie Salter are up, but so far Burch is the only one to file for the election.

West Orange’s city aldermen Shirley Bonnin and Mike Shugart, who have served the city since 1995 and 2004, respectively, say they plan to run for reelection.

Dale Dardeau, who has served as alderman since 1995, is the other office-holder whose seat is up for election.

In Pinehurst, Mayor Dan Mohon and council members Cynthia Adams, John Zerko and Dr. Mike Shahan hold the seats up for election in May. Shahan replaced Mohon, a former Orange mayor, as alderman after Mohon agreed to step as Pinehurst mayor after the mid-term retirement of former mayor Pete Runnels for health reasons.

West Orange-Cove school district will have two three-year at-large seats up for election, those currently held by board president Ruth Hancock and Tommy Wilson Sr. As of midday Tuesday, no one had registered to run yet at WOCCISD.

Josh Fisher and Marleen Courmier have filed to defend their seats on the Little Cypress-Mauriceville school district board, with Randy McIlwain’s Place 1 seat the other with an expiring term.

In Bridge City, the three-year seats of Michael C. Johnson and Mark Anderson are up for election. Johnson has served on the board for nine years, Anderson for 15.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 09/23/2021 17:42