Author photo

By Margaret Toal
For the Record 

New county officials to take oaths on Sunday


Last updated 12/29/2022 at 1:24pm

Chris Sowell to take oath for Precinct 2 County Commissioner

New Year's Day celebrations aren't only for a new year. For Orange County elected officials, New Year's Day is also a time for taking the oath of office for a new term.

This year, the oath of office ceremony will be held at 1 p.m. Sunday in Judge Courtney Arkeen's 128th State District Court, the largest room in the courthouse complex. It is traditional for friends and families of the officials to attend, with cake, coffee, and punch Th

Anne Reed to take oath for OC District Clerk title

This year, Orange County will have two new people taking public office. Anne Reed will become new district clerk after longtime incumbent Vickie Edgerly retired. In addition, Chris Sowell will take the oath to become the new Precinct 2 county commissioner. He is replacing Theresa Adams Beauchamp, who served one term and then retired.

Incumbents taking a new oath to be seated for new terms include County Judge John Gothia and Precinct 4 Commissioner Robert Viator. Other incumbents will be County Court-at-Law Judge Mandy White-Rogers, County Clerk Brandy Robertson, and County Treasurer Christy Khoury.

All four precinct justices of the peace will begin new terms. They are Hershel Stagner Jr. in Precinct 1, Chad Jenkins in Precinct 2, Joy Dubose-Simonton in Precinct 3, and Rodney Price in Precinct 4. Price is the longest-serving JP in the county.

The public is invited to attend the oath of office ceremony.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

County Record
Penny Record

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024